How waking up at 3 a.m. for 30 days transformed my morning routines

Axel Kaijalainen
9 min readJun 29, 2020

You may have read “The 5 a.m. Club” by Robin Sharma. I read it and changed my habits, and then found out about Mark Wahlberg’s morning routine, and he wakes up at 2.30 a.m. I read numerous articles about how the most successful people in business wake up before 4 a.m. So I found somewhat of a middle ground and went for 3 a.m.

Now, you may wonder what kind of psychopath wants to wake up at 3 a.m., or even attempt it for more than a week let along a month. I asked myself this question multiple times during my 30 days; there were some tremendous benefits, but also massive downsides. Let us break it down.

It’s just not for everyone.

This point is crucial to understand, for some people, this will hurt more than it gives back. However, you have to try for yourself to know. During the 30 days, many people asked me “are you okay?”, and my reply became automated to “yes, why wouldn’t I be?”

If you don’t see results in 30 days, then, of course, try something else. But most of the people I talked to said “it’s too early”, and I get it so you have to prioritise and you want out of it. If you don’t give it a try, you also never going to know, but you have to evaluate and track your progress.

--

--

Axel Kaijalainen

I’m a 25-year-old writer & high-performance coach. I’m interested in meditation, mindset and habits. I think life is a series of events that shape your destiny.